The George VI Issues

The times of "head only" stamps was over in the second half of the 1930s. Technical progress in printing and the first experience with the 1935 Silver Jubilee Issue and it's success led to more pictorial issues. This was the beginning of commemorative stamps for the Protectorate.

During the reign of King George VI four commemorative series, one pictorial definitive series and a set of postage due stamps were issued. The commemorative series wer issued in many colonies and therfore produced as master die without name of country and denomination which were overprinted later.


 The Coronation Series 1937 (July 2009)

 The Victory Series 1946 (last change: May 2009)


 The George VI Pictorial Stamps Series 1939

 The Silver Wedding Series 1948


 Covers with Pictorial Series Stamps



 The Postage Due Stamps 1940 (last change: June 09)

 The Universal Postal Union Series 1949 (July 2009)